Have you or do you know of someone who has gone against conventional medicine?

Researchers recently tracked low-risk prostate cancer patients who decided against conventional medical treatment and chose an alternate path. These patients engaged in three months of major lifestyle changes, including eating a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, moderate exercise such as walking for half an hour a day, and an hour of daily stress management methods such as meditation.

The health of the participants improved and researchers were surprised to find profound changes in the patients’ genetic activity when they compared prostate biopsies taken before and after the lifestyle changes. In three months, the men had changes in activity in about 500 genes — including 48 that were turned on and 453 genes that were turned off. The activity of disease-preventing genes increased while a number of disease-promoting genes, including those involved in prostate cancer and breast cancer, shut down. (5)

Lead researcher Dr. Dean Ornish reported, “It’s an exciting finding because so often people say, ’Oh, it’s all in my genes, what can I do?’ Well, it turns out you may be able to do a lot. In just three months, I can change hundreds of my genes simply by changing what I eat and how I live.” (6)

References:

(5) Dean Ornish, et al, Changes in prostate gene expression in men undergoing an intensive nutrition and lifestyle intervention, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 105, no. 24 (June 17, 2008): 8369–8374.

(6) Change in diet, exercise may change your genes Reuters: June 16, 2008.

19 thoughts on “Have you or do you know of someone who has gone against conventional medicine?

  1. A doctor told me I had cervical cancer, and that I need to have a it taken out. They best plan was to have a hysterectomy! I went back to my doctor and told him there is no way that women is touching me! That I wanted a second opinion, I ask for my charts and took it to my Naturalpath and he believed we could work on it together, with oxygen therapy, and getting my immune system up… Long story short after check after check up I still continue to have clear pabs…. And interesting enough when I went to the cancer clinic to talk to a surgeon for a secon opinion, she was a little shocked that all I wanted from her was to give me ” based on her expertise” looking at my chart , what was my percentage of cancer being in my cervix , she was really great and gave me about 17%…. I almost cried… That I can work with!! Then she proceeded to tell me ” know one has ever asked her that before” I left wondering how many people just believe what doctors say and get body parts cut……?

    Xoxo
    Love your books!!
    Lee Marinelli

  2. Christiana Northrup PhD said women who go in for a breast exam should not do it, because there are readings of cancer cells, which would normally cause u no harm n go away, but the Dr slices the breast off n does high doses of chemo, all un necessary. I won’t go now. I refuse the exam. Xox😍

  3. yest aftiend of mine had gone through gerson diet to reverse breast cancer tumor i dont have details but i know she was shrunk them .

  4. Yes. We can heal ourselves, actually just we can do that… even if someone using the conventional medicine it will not work in any way if he / she doesn’t believe that it will happen…

  5. Yes!
    My first effort began with a lot of hullabaloo over a baseline mammogram. After several other mammograms and a biopsy, it was time to stop.
    It’s been 23 years now. I don’t take any pharmaceuticals, nor do I get mammograms or other “required” tests. I’m very well by insurance standards, for my age.
    I feel very well, and choose independence, rather than co-dependence on a broken system, that doesn’t apply to all people. (In particular, those that choose a natural lifestyle)
    I’m an undiagnosed Hyperthyroid person. I follow a good diet, get exercise and fresh air.
    I do believe in emergency services. However, I also believe in self-empowerment.

  6. The Natural Sage, you’ve completely expressed my own perspective, and the essence of my own mammography experience. I extricated myself from the “machine” of what continues to feel like a broken yet bullyingly insistent system, way back when I was a practical nurse and saw it from the inside. The true remedies and healing are ignored or even threatened and suppressed. But the grace is, that power of choice we came in with, and using it, with lal the wisdom we can gather. 🙂 Thanks for raising this great topic, #BiologyofBelief.

  7. I did follow conventional surgeries for my breast cancer so A lumpectomy followed by radical mastectomy when a second tumor was found. afterwards something inside me screamed Against chemotherapy. for a short time I took the pills and was very ill with the side effects. when I informed my oncologist that I was no longer going to take treatment he dropped me as a patient. I’ve been cancer free now for over five years. I feel very good. I’ve made changes in my diet recently more and I am enjoying my life. two of my friends did traditional chemotherapy and radiation and have now both passed away. I think you need to follow your heart and your gut and not be bullied because none of us has a guarantee ,but it’s the quality of our life while we’re here that is important. I had a follow-up complete checkup a year ago with a oncologist who was semi retired so she’s had many years of experience. she assured me that I had made all of the right choices and that I should stop worrying and go home and be Happy and Healthy. so now I choose not to worry anymore and to just be happy and I think by listening to my heart I am well. I doubt that I will have anymore mammograms.

  8. Pingback: Freedom from our genes! | Bio-Sil South Africa

  9. In 1999, I developed a fast growing large tumor on my head that wrapped around my ears. One doctor shuddered when he examined me. With extensive research, I diagnosed it as Astrocytoma, a ganglionic brain cancer. I refused to return to a physician who would prescribe the usual invasive measures such as Chemo, radiation or surgery. I cured this cancer is six months and have been cancer free since. Read my story here at: http://claudinefleury.hubpages.com/hub/How-I-Kicked-it-to-Cancer-A-How-to-Alternative

  10. Using Himplasia tablets from the Himalaya Drug Company, India (ayurvedic tablets) for benign prostatic hyperplasia, my once-rising PSA level dropped from 7.5 to 2 and my urinary flow, a frequent and urgent need to urinate reverted to normal. After 1 year I withdrew from using the tablets for three months which resulted in PSA level rising to 3.5 and the re-occurrence of storage and voiding symptoms. Within 6 weeks or reintroduction of the Himplasia tables I was back to normal.
    Graeme Lindsay, PhD

    References:
    Pranjal R. Modi and S.A. Kolhapure, 2004. Evaluation of clinical efficacy and safety of Himplasia in BPH: A prospective, randomized, placebo-controlled, double blind, phase III clinical trial. Medicine Update 12(6), 33-42

    http://www.researchgate.net/publication/237710021_Efficacy_and_Safety_of_a_Herbal_Preparation_PR2000_in_the_Treatment_of_Symptomatic_Benign_Prostatic_Hyperplasia

Leave a Reply

