What are you actively trying to accomplish?

The eminent British historian Arnold Toynbee talked about civilizations as having life cycles. In an individual life cycle, something begins, develops, matures, and declines. Toynbee said that a newly forming civilization is like a child who is experiencing and trying new things. This would be a civilization’s period of early development. Next, a civilization begins to adopt the beliefs that work for it, and once it holds on to those beliefs, it enters a period of rigidity. This is akin to the child doing all the experimental stuff but then coming up against the wall of a parent saying “This is the way it is” and internalizing that message.

But there’s a problem with this rigidity: The universe is continuously and dynamically changing. So trying to hold on to a belief leads to challenges that are the result of not being flexible enough to bend with the currents of change. What is rigid begins to decline.

Civilizations have always come and gone. Our particular cycle is unique, however, because we’re not just ending a civilization, we’re also ending a complete stage of evolution. We also have the potential to jump into another stage of evolution, but I must emphasize that we have the potential. We cannot tell the outcome. We may or may not make it, and we must really own that. This doesn’t mean that we should stop trying to see how we might be able to survive but that we should be all the more active in trying to do so.

6 thoughts on “What are you actively trying to accomplish?

  1. Pingback: Ce doresti sa realizezi prin actiunile tale? | Eduard Jak Neumann's Blog

  2. As a mother, I am determined, not to condition my daughter to believe that “things are the way they are, and there is nothing we can do about it”. I do my best to support her curiosity and quench her thirst for knowledge and understanding of our way of live. As I am focusing on being a mindful parent in order to allow my little one to live to her fullest potential. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. Namaste
    https://www.facebook.com/namasteparenting1

  3. Perhaps we are not ending ending life as beings but as to how we perceive it. A bump in consciousness is more important than a bump in physical manifestation. I think our “fear” of ending (dying) is pushed back not by denying it, but by denying that it matters. However we perceive it we need to understand there is an order to things and that a metanoia of sorts is underway that could be interpreted as a raising of consciousness. This might take a few centuries, maybe not. I am hoping we continue because I need a few more lifetimes to finish my work. *s* ~ Dr. Derek Lamar ( http://www.qm21.com )

  4. Yes I see this as an evolutionary jump for us humans too. But I also see there have been so much good discoveries which do help us here. I mean your work Bruce and the work of many others, that have helped me, to discover more about the reality of life and who I truly am. And so I am well prepared and I am not alone, there are so many others with me and I am grateful to be in contact with like minded people via internet. Love, joy, peace and compassion may be with You always.

  5. “…but I must emphasize that we have the potential. We cannot tell the outcome. We may or may not make it, and we must really own that.” Doesn’t that statement contradict your biology of belief” That our beliefs – our knowing that something is true will make it so? Personally, I go into meditation and visualization and carry with me everyday the knowing that we will make it. Somedays I am not always cheerful, but I still carry that knowing. This is the energy that is needed, I believe, not “well, I believe in our success to a point, but, maybe we won’t actually make it”…for me the biology of belief means I believe it and know it and feel it in my being..not a cafeteria belief. If we are going to make it then we need the energy of knowing with laser focus and intent, the feelings, sounds, visuals, smells..all the way. I don’t and won’t own any thought of our failure. Just a thought

    • Thank you for the gift of your message and sharing with us. Great thoughts and happy to read about your meditation and visual practices. Again the last sentence in the “What are you actively trying to acomplish states, “this doesn’t mean that we should stop trying to see how we might be able to survive but that we should be all the more active in trying to do so.” Other awesome resources are located at http://www.brucelipton.com/resources. Hope you have a moment to check them out 🙂

Leave a Reply

