Is “The Honeymoon Effect” just something we’re lucky to have with people?

I say no. The honeymoon effect is driven by Nature, and it’s based on something called the biological imperative. The “biological imperative” is an understanding that biologists have, which is that all organisms have a drive to survive. But in Nature, the drive to survive is not just for the individual but for the species, so we are driven to reproduce. If you don’t reproduce, there is no species survival. The more complex the organism, the less developed it is when it’s born. A baby is helpless. During the vulnerable period when the child cannot sustain itself; Nature asks—who is going to take care of it? Ah—the parents. Bonding holds animals together as it holds parents together. The chemistry of love at that level is not just of gratification, it’s also the pleasure and bonding to stay together long enough to parent the offspring. The chemistry of dopamine is pleasure. If I get pleasure from my partner, and oxytocin is released at the same time as the pleasure, oxytocin is the chemical that says “bond to the source of this pleasure.” Then the last piece of it is the serotonin. The serotonin associated with addiction, says: “wherever you’re getting that fix of pleasure, you want more of that.” When a person is in love, the person not only thinks about that individual, but also wants to be with them, they are also addicted to that individual in the sense that they want “more pleasure.”

8 thoughts on “Is “The Honeymoon Effect” just something we’re lucky to have with people?

  1. Well, I think this is a way too simplistic explanation. Neither my life partner or myself want children (she has 2 from a previous marriage), so we are not essentially biologically driven. While we are very attracted to each other, including sexually, the attraction and bond goes way beyond biology, into a type of mystical phenomenon. Let’s explore this? We are … That’s evolution, a progressive biological experiment perhaps?

    • I guess I I know what you are talking about David. I also feel or felt love in the past beyond biology – this is a good expression! 🙂 I have a same experience in a relationship. But there is even more. My senses awake a year ago with it and I feel love not only to a particular person. I feel and are searching for ways to feel it even deeper in nature for example or with other people, or while searching for what my purpose is. I started distant healing, I am in awe about Science discoveries as Quantum Theory. I want to come to my true being in a body. I want to grow in my awareness about myself. Another time, 20 years ago, I fell in love to Jesus. I somehow stepped into a consciousness while praying for my father (who had a heart attack). This love was absolutely unexpected for me at that time of my life and there is still a bond with me and it sure changed my faith in a strong one.

  2. Some more thoughts about the honeymoon effect:
    I guess our body is just an expression of life energies. It is a wonder how life creates life on earth. There is no explanation in science about this fact that out of one male and one female cell comes a new life into being with all the very complex cells of an organism and I never read an explanation, how it is possible, that there accrues a heartbeat and the matter, that there is an ongoing circulating process. This is so amazing to me and yes, it shows that each organism has a drive to survive. To me it also shows, that there is a life energy behind the scene that drives us. This life energy is in my opinion love. At least that makes a lot of sense to me when I look in nature and what drives us to act. This life force energy makes life, so no wonder there is a honeymoon effect in life and serotonin and dopamin as a part of it.
    Thanks for giving the opportunity, to reply. I really do appreciate this. ❤
    Love & Light to all who might read this.

  3. Pingback: Happy Love Day! How will you show your love today? | the biology of belief

Leave a Reply

